Home > Just Me > Graduation

Graduation

November 10, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well I am proud too announce my two boys graduated from there HNC Interactive Media Course.

Jamie & Mark

It was one of those moments in life where you think,

“all the hard work as parents has paid off.”

It was an early morning start and we had to be at Glasgow University  for 9:00am so the boys could collect their robes and get their official photographs done before the ceremony started. As we walked up towards the Uni Mark was a bit apprehensive,

“There is no one going to be here, whats the point, I don’t see anyone else in a robe.”

I could tell he was starting to get nervous. Jamie just went with the flow as he does, but when Jamie gets nervous he tends to go a little quiet.

As we entered the building I just led the way knowing that the boys would follow my lead, we walked up a few flights of stairs and into a hall where they were to collect the robes. I looked at Mark and I could see the relief in his face when he saw a room full of people in Suits and robes, Jamie just had a little smirk on his face as if to say,

“Good we are not the only one’s.”

They joined the Que of other graduates waiting to collect their robes and the place was buzzing with excitement. As they put on their robes and turned around, I looked at Annmarie my wife, she had a smile on her face that said it all, this was the moment she had been talking about all year.

The boys went through to get their official photographs and I went out side to look for my Mum, Dad and Sister who had come along to see the boys graduate. I seen Kay my sister, first and told her where she could find Annmarie and the boys then I met my Mum & Dad and took them through to the hall where the photos were being taken, by the time we got into the hall Mark & Jamie had already been photographed and were ready to go to the main ceremony hall.

Glasgow University Main Ceremony Hall

We quickly found some seats and the boys were told where they were to sit. I looked around and was thinking,

“I need to get a better position for photographs.”

I could see down the right hand side that there were empty seats below the gallery and kind of sneaked into one of the seating booth’s,

“Right I will get a good shot of them collecting their award from here.”

As the graduates began to line up to accept their award the person awarding the certificates moved to the right of the podium, no no no lol. She had moved into a position that meant the boys backs would be facing towards me, so I had to make do with the situation. A photograph is better than no photo at all.

Jamie Getting His Certificate

Mark Getting His Certificate

Even though I had my face stuck to a camera I could feel the big smile on my face and my heart banging with pride,

“Well Done My Boys.”

When the ceremony finished we went back downstairs to get some photos with the boys before they returned the robes and capture a moment in time that will always be remembered.

Proud Mum With Her Boys

Proud Dad (me), With My Boys

Proud Gran With Her Grandsons

Proud Granddad With His Grandsons

Proud Auntie Kay With Her Nephews

I think this last photo kind of sums up the day, how we were all feeling.

The Smile

!!! Nice one dad lol !!!

  1. Joan
    November 10, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    What a great day this was!! I got to watch my two grandsons gradudate.This is something i’am sure their parents at times thought they would not see the boys do. I am so glad they proved us all wrong. I think one of the hardest moments of the day was trying to hold back the tears of pride… when i watched the faces on the boys mum and dad. “Well done” all your hard work has paid off Mark and Annmarie. Thank you boys for letting your very proud Gran and Grandad share your special day xx

  2. Anonymous
    November 10, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    What can i say my dearest husband said it all thank you for capturing it all xxxx Thank you mark and jamie for a very special day and making us very proud, i will keep showing off your photos lol ♥ my family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

